Board and Team

Gavin Rae – Chairperson

Gavin gained his PhD in political sociology at London South Bank University. He has been active in left-wing politics in both Britain and Poland for over 30 years. He has been active in many campaigns including the anti-war movement in Poland. He lives in Warsaw and lectures in sociology. He has researched and written extensively on the political situation in Poland and Central and Eastern Europe. He is a co-founder of the Forward Foundation.

Sylwia Garart – Secretary

Sylwia is a graduate of history and theology from the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn. From 2009 she has been engaged in non-governmental activities and is a social and left activist. Professionally she has been involved in the rights of women and national and ethnic minorities and socio-economic matters. During the years 2009-2010 she was a co-founder of the Social Centre of Young Socialists in Olszyn. She is the Chairperson of the Committee for the Dialogue of Cultures at the Wojciech Kętrzynski Scientific Society. From 2011 she has been the chairperson of the Forum of Public Dialogue. She is a co-founder of the Forward Foundation.

Czesław Kulesza – Board Member

Czesław is a political advisor and graduate of the Department of Journalism and Political Science at Warsaw University. For more than 20 years he has been connected to the Polish Socialist Party, fulfilling functions such as leader of the Youth Organisation and Vice-Chair of the General Council. He worked for and was active in the All-Poland Alliance of Trade Unions – OPZZ (where amongst others he was Co-ordinator in the Team for International Co-operation and European Integration) and in left non-governmental organisations. He was one of the initiators of the Committee for Free Education and the Committee for the Defence of National Property. He is General Secretary of the Social Movement Association ‘Work-Peace-Justice’. He is a co-founder of the Forward Foundation. .

Program Council

Agata Czarnacka – Left Publicist, Feminist Activist
August Grabski – Left Activist and Lecturer at the Jewish Historical Institute.
Anna Grodzka – socialist, activist for equal rights, chairperson of the Association FAIR Society

Jerzy Kochan – Professor at the Institute of Philosophy at the University of Szczecin. Chairperson of the Polish Marxist Association.

David Ost – Professor of Political Science at Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Anna Pyzik – Author, journalist and literary critic, cooperating amongst others with the Guardian and The Wire.
Jolanta Supińska –Professor at the Institute of Social Policy at Warsaw University
Ryszard Szarfenberg – Professor at the Institute of Social Policy at Warsaw University
Jacek Tittenbrun – Professor of Sociology at the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań.
Przemysław Wielgosz – Journalist and publicist, Editor of Le Monde Diplomatique (Polish Edition).